Deadly Silence by OMJ Ryan

48513967._SY475_

About the book:

Some sins can never be forgiven.

DI Jane Phillips was a star detective driven by a relentless quest for justice. But then she stepped outside the law.

Now, demoted and suffering with PTSD, she finds herself facing the deadliest threat of her career — a serial killer who is preying on vulnerable women, murdering them in a shocking and bizarre ritual.

A master of deception, he selects his victims at random. Or so it seems. But as Phillips investigates, she begins to see a method in the killer’s madness. Perhaps these victims aren’t random at all…

As the pressure mounts, can Phillips find the link between these ritual murders before the killer strikes again — or will her dogged determination to solve the case bring his deadly silence to her door?

Deadly Silence is a gripping mystery thriller that will keep you up all night as it races towards its shocking conclusion. Perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Angela Marsons and Peter James.

My review:

While I enjoy this type of book very much, I admit to being critical of them. It’s hard to get the right balance between being blatantly obvious about “whodunit” and “wtf where did that even come from?” Deadly Silence, however, gets it exactly right. The book is set in Manchester, England. DI Phillips has recently been demoted after a disastrous ending to a previous case and her work arch rival has taken her old job. She and her team must work with him to catch a serial killer.

This book was so hard to put down. The pacing flowed easily, and every time I was convinced I had figured it out that would change. The red herrings are quite effective as I usually do’n’t fall for them. The only complaint I have about this book is that it reads like the second book in a series, not the first. The case that resulted in the demotion of DI Phillips is referred to frequently with little details, as if we are supposed to know what happened already. One character that apparently featured in that case is referred to in passing and then makes an appearance out of nowhere, and the conversation isn’t that enlightening on who he is exactly. I was actually going to look for the book that contained that case then realized this was the first book and we aren’t getting the rest of the story. However, it isn’t enough to take away enjoyment of the book overall.

If you enjoy mysteries or police procedurals like the ones by James Patterson or Patricia Cornwell, you will enjoy this one as well.

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Buy on Amazon

Add to Goodreads

About the author:

For twenty years Owen Ryan worked in radio and entertainment across the UK and Australia, collaborating with household names, celebrities and music icons, accumulating a host of international writing and radio awards.

In 2018 he followed his passion to become a full-time novelist, writing stories for people who devour exciting, fast-paced thrillers by the pool, on their commute – or those rare moments of downtime before bed. Owen’s mission is to entertain from the first page to the last.

Hailing from Yorkshire, Owen has lived and worked in Leeds, Manchester, Sheffield, Glasgow, Sydney and Melbourne, before settling in the north east of England with his wife Kim and son Vaughan.

This summer enjoy Deadly Secrets and dive deep into the entertaining world of UK radio, and dark underbelly of Manchester, experiencing the glamour and grime of this world-famous city in equal measure.

Website    YouTube   Twitter   Instagram   Facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s